Kundananji, Barbra, Chanda, Musonda Nominated for 2023 CAF Awards

2023 CAF Award Nominations: Kundananji, Barbra, Chanda, Musonda, and Copper Queens in the Spotlight

In a testament to their outstanding contributions to African football, Zambia Women’s National Team, along with notable players, has secured nominations in various categories for the upcoming CAF Awards. Here’s a breakdown of the nominations:

  1. CAF Team of the Year Award: Zambia Women’s National Team

    • The Zambia Women’s National Team has clinched a nomination for the prestigious CAF Team of the Year Award. This recognition comes as a tribute to their collective excellence and remarkable performance on the field.
  2. Player of the Year Awards: Barbra Banda, Racheal Kundananji, and Grace Chanda

    • Three dynamic players from Zambia, Barbra Banda, Racheal Kundananji, and Grace Chanda, have earned well-deserved nominations for the Player of the Year Awards. Their skill, dedication, and impact on the pitch have garnered continental acclaim.
  3. Goalkeeper of the Year Award: Catherine Musonda

    • Catherine Musonda, following her stellar performance at the World Cup, has received a nomination for the Goalkeeper of the Year Award. Notably, Musonda is the first Zambian female goalkeeper to be nominated for a CAF award, marking a historic moment in Zambian football.
  4. Introduction of African Goalkeeper of the Year Category

    • CAF has introduced the African Goalkeeper of the Year category for both men and women. This groundbreaking move aims to recognize and celebrate the exceptional talent and contribution of goalkeepers in the continent.

The nominees will undergo scrutiny from the CAF Technical Committee, media professionals, head coaches, and captains of member associations and clubs involved in the group stages of the interclub competitions. The final winners will be determined through a democratic voting process.

Zambia proudly stands on the continental stage, with its football talent earning well-deserved recognition. The nation eagerly anticipates the results of the CAF Awards, where its representatives have a chance to etch their names in African football history.

Player of the Year
1.Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon, Internazionale Milano)
2.Evelyn Badu (Ghana, Avaldnes)
3.Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi, Paris Saint-Germain)
4.Temwa Chawinga (Malawi, Wuhan Jiangda)
5. Anissa Lahmari (Morocco, Levante Las Planas)
6.Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
7.Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)
8.Ibtissam Jraidi (Morocco, AS FAR/Al Ahli)
9. Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)
10.Zenatha Coleman (Namibia, Fenerbahce)
11.Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)
12.Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
13.Christy Ucheibe (Nigeria, Benfica)
14.Osinachi Ohale (Nigeria, Alaves/Pachuca)
15. Rasheedat Ajibade (Nigeria, Atletico Madrid)
16. Toni Payne (Nigeria, Sevilla)
17. Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria, Tigres/Racing Louisville)
18. Ndeye Awa Diakhaté (Senegal, Olympique de Marseille)
19. Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
20. Hilda Magaia (South Africa, Sejong Sportstoto)
21. Jermaine Seoposenwe (South Africa, Juarez/Monterrey)
22. Linda Motlhalo (South Africa, Glasgow City)
23. Refiloe Jane (South Africa, Sassuolo)
24. Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)
25. Afi Sabine Woedikou (Togo, Strasbourg/Nantes)
26. Sabrina Ellouzi (Tunisia, Excelsior)
27. Fazila Ikwaput (Uganda, Kampala Queens)
28. Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)
29. Grace Chanda (Zambia, Madrid CFF)
30. Rachael Kundananji (Zambia, Madrid CFF)
Goalkeeper of the Year
1. Ange Bawou (Cameroon, Bayelsa Queens/ BIIK-Shymkent)
2. Dolores Hernandez Masongo (Equatorial Guinea, Huracanes)
3. Imane Abdelahad (Morocco, SC Casablanca)
4. Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)
5. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
6. Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
7. Kaylin Swart (South Africa, JVW)
8. Najiat Abass Idrisa (Tanzania, JKT Queens)
9. Catherine Musonda (Zambia, Tomiris Turan)
10. Cynthia Shongwe (Zimbabwe, Harare City)
Interclub Player of the Year
1. Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)
2. N’Guessan Nadege Koffi (Cote d’Ivoire, SC Casablanca)
3. Elena Oyana (Equatorial Guinea, Huracanes)
4. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
5. Tracy Twum (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
6. Oumou Kone (Mali, AS Mande)
7. Aziza Rabbah (Morocco, AS FAR)
8. Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
9. Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)
10.Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
Young Player of the Year (not more than 21 years)
1. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
2. Mary Amponsah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
3. Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)
4. Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburg Panthers)
5. Esther Opeyemi Ajakaye (Nigeria, Delta Queens)
6. Oluwatosin Demehin (Nigeria, Stade Reims)
7. Hapsatou Malado Diallo (Senegal, USPA/Eibar)
8. Thubelihle Shamase (South Africa, University of Johannesburg FC)
9. Winifreda Gerald (Tanzania, JKT Queens)
10.Fauzia Najjemba (Uganda, Dynamo Moscow)
Coach of the Year
1. Nana Joe Adarkwa (Ampem Darkoa)
2. Lovemore Fazili (Malawi)
3. Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca)
4. Mohamed Amine Alioua (AS FAR)
5. Reynald Pedros (Morocco)
6. Randy Waldrum (Nigeria)
7. Mame Moussa Cisse (Senegal)
8. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
9. Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)
10.Esther Chabruma (JKT Queens)
National Team of the Year
1.     Burkina Faso
2.     Burundi
3.     Ghana
4.     Malawi
5.     Morocco
6.     Nigeria
7.     Senegal
8.     South Africa
9.     Tanzania
10.  Zambia
Club of the Year
1.     Athletico d’Abidjan (Cote d’Ivoire)
2.     Huracanes (Equatorial Guinea)
3.     Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)
4.     AS Mande (Mali)
5.     AS FAR (Morocco)
6.     SC Casablanca (Morocco)
7.     Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
8.     JKT Queens (Tanzania)
Please follow and like us:

Related Articles

Back to top button